Diving Into the 2020s by Dressing Like the 1920s!

So since I’m still playing catch up on my posts this post is from New Years and I’m only now getting out and it’s March… whoops. So ignore the Christmas decorations or enjoy a little bit of Christmas in March, your choice.

Seeing as I we were jumping into a new decade I decided that it was the perfect time to make a fun 1920s dress to celebrate! This was a quick one day project just for fun. The fabrics are modern and I drafted the pattern based on some photos I’ve seen of 1920s dress patterns before. It was just something quick and fun for myself!

As you can see from my photos I was incredibly professional throughout this process. Top notch sewing on display.

These- unorthodox techniques actually worked pretty well. I used old bed sheets, as usual, for the slip layer and then found some fun art deco fabric at Joanne Fabrics for the outer layer.

I am really happy with how this dress turned out and I felt wonderfully dressed for to ring in the New Year. It was like I walked out of an episode of Downton Abbey.

One last silly photo of my feeling dramatic for fun!

The dress is super fun and now I have a nice vintage evening look in my collection.

I hope you are enjoying your 2020s and having lots of good vintage fun!

Love always,

Victoria

Author: historyonabudget

I'm a young woman with a small budget and big passion for history! I'm finding my way through the world of historical costuming and reenactment and I'm taking you with me! I'm bound to mess up along the way, but that's the best way to learn.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started